Day 5: Movie at the Theater (The Hobbit)

My roommate works at the Mall of America.

She scored us some free tickets to the theater.

We left the apartment a little early so we could have dinner in the food court before the show. After our extremely energetic bluegrass ventures of the night before, we hadn’t left our beds until 5:00 p.m., let alone eat anything.

Image

We were awkward beasts when forced to order food/tickets. I was a stare master. We hadn’t talked to anyone all day (besides raspy yelling to each other from our beds, and of course talking to our cat Pickle).

Image

The movie was 3D, and enjoyable, especially since Krista and I have the same sense of humor, aka, we laugh when we aren’t supposed to. It wasn’t, I must add, even close to the wonderfulness of the Lord of the Rings series. But again, I was an unhealthy level of obsessed with that series (I had a LOTR planner, LOTR posters, and I knew a ton of facts about cast members, I bought an evenstar necklace, and practiced writing in the font used for the map of Middle Earth).

I just can’t help but to think that this series was made for a different audience. The violence is gone (besides flashy archery showmanship).

gimli    vs.    hobbit

The characters look/act more narnia-ish, and less dark-fantasy. The characters are silly, and not in an endearing Pippinish way. I guess I just don’t get it. I enjoyed it, but I don’t get it.

One thought on “Day 5: Movie at the Theater (The Hobbit)

Leave a Reply

