Day 14: Sent an Overdue Email(s)

Today I didn’t want to do anything. I didn’t want to get out of bed. I didn’t want to work. And I sure as hell didn’t want to do something for this blog when I got home.

But that was the point of this blog…to make me do stuff when I didn’t want to get out of bed. So, that when I did eventually emerge from my blues (want to socialize, move, and smile), I wouldn’t have to overcompensate for my lazy, sad spurts.

So, today I tackled something small (but important), just to keep moving forward.

I responded to two emails that I had been unintentionally avoiding. One was regarding a freelance article I’ve been dreaming of writing (but, like many dreams, I was saving for a future, more convenient date), and the other was an overdue “catching up” email to a lady I used to garden for during my final college summer. The lady was, in essence, my third grandma. I shouldn’t have waited this long before sending a “hello.”

And, as I sit here explaining, I remember that wonderful summer. And I feel a little better.

I had dirt under my fingernails 24/7 from gardening; I watched the sunset with my best friends, drinking wine from the porch; I laid in the sun and ate ice cream every day; and I fell asleep with the window open, sand in my sheets, sunscreen still on my skin, and a smile still on my face.

That, was happiness.

summer summer5 summer6 summer8newnew2

One thought on “Day 14: Sent an Overdue Email(s)

Leave a Reply

