Day 16: Reunited With an Old (Yet New) Friend

Ok, so when I say I had a “bad day,” it’s really an unfair generalization. My car started, I got to work safely, I met with a real cheery author, and I got to meet with a friend for “dinner.”

And little details in there were a bit unpleasant.

Anyways, what counts, is that I got to meet with an old (yet new) friend for “dinner.” I considered it “dinner,” because it was around supper time, but I put it in quotations, because I just got pie and wine. And I labelled her an old (yet new) friend, because I’ve only known this friend for a year (new), but she was the first person I met in the Twin Cities (old).

Image

I met Laine at WIN (Women in Networking) a year ago (my first day at my job). Laine learned I was new to the area, so she asked me to meet up for dinner. We went to Gigi’s that first night, and again tonight for old times sake.

When you learn someone is new to an area, job, or apartment, do you try to make them feel welcome?ImageImage

Tonight Laine helped me brainstorm through my writing group’s road blocks. (And a few personal moral dilemmas. No big deal.)

We also set up a tentative one-on-one photography lesson. You see, Laine’s real talented.ImageAnd we tried to take a million photos…and I’d say they’re all keepers.Image

2 thoughts on “Day 16: Reunited With an Old (Yet New) Friend

Leave a Reply

