Day 71: Met Up With Uptown Writers

Once a month I have an “Uptown Writers” MeetUp. [I] [II]

I created it about six months ago to help writers create a writing habit (and stop procrastinating).

I created it for myself.

Today there are 52 members (6 Facebook group “likers”), with ten members actively supporting each other/paired up with an accountability partner. This may not seem like a lot, but I think this progress is awesome.

We went to Gigi’s again. I ordered a mushroom pizza (I give it a 6.5 out of 10), and an arnie palmer (and boom, I’m suddenly parched as I think about it). I paid with cash since my roommate just gave me her portion of the bills, and somehow, I’m afraid (so afraid) that I lost a $20 bill. I went back to the counter after I set my stuff down, and eyeballed the tip jar like a freak, checking to see if I accidentally stuck a $20 in there.

Anyways, I didn’t take any photos of the group (crappy phone and complete strangers), but Instagram does provide some evidence.

ImageImage

See, an arnie palmer.

…Four writers showed up tonight. One writer writes every morning at 5 a.m. before work. He has a six-month-old baby, and a full-time job. And he writes every morning. If that’s not motivation to get writing, I don’t know what is.

When I got back to the apartment, I tidied up the MeetUp page a bit. It’s amazing how much the group format and structure has changed since that first meeting:  evolution!

Leave a Reply

